Muladhara Chakra: How to Activate, Heal & Balance It

Muladhara Chakra Healing and Balancing Image

Chakras play a significant role in our well-being. That’s why it’s essential to know how to balance them. In this article, I’m going to do a quick introduction to the 7 chakra system and give you a detailed review of the Muladhara chakra, its significance for our health, and how to balance it.

What are the 7 Main Chakras?

Chakras are the energy centers of the body. They are located in the astral body, along the spine, starting at its base and running upwards to the crown of the head. Chakras are entry points for life force energy or “Prana” into your body.

Each chakra looks like a spinning vortex of energy and holds the beliefs, thought forms, emotions, and memories related to specific aspects of your being. This spinning energy vortex is a vital life force that keeps us healthy and alive. 

Since each chakra relates to specific spiritual, emotional, psychological, and physical aspects of our being, their blockage or imbalance can lead to emotional, psychological, and even physical disorders.

That’s why it’s so important to include chakra balancing in your healing practice.

Affirmations For Chakras Image

Mostly, we hear about the ‘seven main chakras’ but, there is an infinite number of chakras in our body. Just as our physical body has vital and minor organs, our energy body has major and minor chakras. Energy healers usually focus on the 7 major chakras:

  1. Root Chakra (Muladhara Chakra)
  2. Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana Chakra)
  3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura Chakra)
  4. Heart Chakra (Anahata Chakra)
  5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha Chakra)
  6. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna Chakra)
  7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara Chakra)

Muladhara Chakra

Let’s take a closer look at the first chakra of the 7 chakra system – the Root chakra.

The Root chakra, also known as the Muladhara chakra, is located at the base of the spine. It has four petals and contains primarily red prana. That’s why it’s usually depicted as a red four-petaled lotus flower.

The red prana that the Root chakra contains energizes and strengthens our physical body.

Muladhara chakra SOLANCHA image

It controls and energizes the muscular and skeletal system, and affects the production and the quality of our blood.

If the Root chakra is overactive, it can manifest as hyperactivity, restlessness, and insomnia. 

Another interesting thing about the Muladhara chakra is that it’s responsible for youthfulness. Elderly people usually have very weak Root chakras. Prana in their Root chakras doesn’t circulate actively enough to energize their bodies. That’s why their bodies are weak and even become smaller, their bones become fragile, and their muscles shrink in size. Therefore, a healthy Root chakra is the key to youthfulness and good health.

Metaphorically, we can imagine the Root chakra as the root of a tree. As we all know, the weaker the root, the weaker the tree. Similarly, the weaker your Root chakra, the weaker your body.

Psychologically, the Root chakra is the center of our self-preservation or survival instinct. It’s responsible for our sense of safety, stability, and security. It also gives us motivation to act and, in general, is responsible for our actions.

Signs of an Imbalanced Muladhara Chakra

Now let’s take a look at the signs of imbalanced Muladhara chakra:

  • Worries
  • Anxiety
  • Fears
  • Panic attacks
  • Insomnia
  • Nightmares
  • Greed
  • Laziness
  • Apathy
  • Depression
  • Problems with the colon and the bladder
  • Lower back, leg, or feet issues
  • Prostate problems in men
  • Weak immunity
  • Constipation
  • Digestive Issues
  • Eating Disorders
  • Lower Body Pain
  • Sciatica
  • Anemia
  • Numbness

How to Balance the Muladhara Chakra

Now let’s take a look at 6 ways to balance your Muladhara chakra.

#1: Responsibility

Take responsibility for your own life, stop being a victim of circumstances, and make sure that your basic needs are always met. It means to live in balance, eat healthy, sleep enough, and take good care of yourself.

#2: Grounding

grounding visualization image

By connecting yourself with the earth, you are balancing out the spiritual and physical energy in your body which also helps to balance your Root chakra. For grounding yourself, you can walk on the ground barefoot.

#3: Healing Crystals & Stones

Healing crystals and stones can help you activate, balance, and heal your Muladhara chakra. A powerful way to receive the healing power of the crystal is to hold it during meditation, place it on your body, or use it with your Living Crystal Device.

To activate your Root chakra, use:

  • Fire agate
  • Bloodstone
  • Black Tourmaline

To calm your Root chakra, use emerald.

To balance your Root chakra, use:

  • Carnelian
  • Smoky Quartz
  • Shungite

#4: Essential Oils

Adding essential oils to your healing practice can help you balance your Muladhara chakra. 

Essential oils like patchouli, sandalwood, cinnamon, sage, myrrh, ginger, frankincense, and cedarwood have a sympathetic resonance with the Root chakra. Invite these oils into your healing space to deepen the effect of energy healing.

#5: Root Chakra Healing with Reiki

Reiki helps to unblock, heal, and balance your Root chakra. Usually, I start Reiki healing with a chakra scan, which clarifies what problems the Root chakra may have. If you don’t know how to do a chakra scan, check out this video:

After that, you can send Reiki healing to your Root chakra or you can use my guided meditation to guide you through your healing session.

#6: Affirmations

Affirmations help unblock and balance your Muladhara chakra. Here is the list of my favorite affirmations for the Rott chakra:

  • I am centered and grounded.
  • I love being in my body.
  • I am powerful, rooted, and strong.
  • I have everything I need.
  • I am stable and secure.
  • I am connected to nature.
  • I am financially secure. 
  • I am safe.
  • The universe takes care of me.
  • I am peaceful.
  • I am protected.