Earth Chakras: Exploring The 7 Sacred Locations

Earth Chakras Image

What comes to mind when you think about chakras? If you pursue spiritual awakening, you know that our bodies have seven energy centers, the foundation of our spiritual power. Also, these energy focal points allow energy to run through them to create harmony between the physical body, mind, and spirit. However, did you know that our planet earth has its own set of chakras, viewed as sacred locations around the world? Yes, like our body chakras, seven earth chakras align us with the earth’s magnetic core.

Why Are Earth Chakras Important to Us?

Chakras are a vital aspect for anyone practicing yoga or active in pursuing their spiritual journey. The upper chakras control spirituality, while the lower chakras control materiality. They line up to facilitate the flow of our chi through the body.

In contrast, any blockage or imbalance of one or more of the chakras can cause emotional or physical illness. Attaining a spiritual awakening requires our bodies to be in harmony with the universe. In addition, knowing the earth chakras helps us connect with them either by visiting these locations or using crystals, or looking at their photos when doing yoga, or visualizing them during meditation.

The 7 Earth Chakras

#1: The Root Chakra: Mount Shasta, California, USA

Mount Shasta Earth Chakra Image

The Root chakra, also called Muladhara, is our source of stability and security. Symbolized by the lotus flower with four petals in red or pink colors, it is at the base of the spine. This chakra grounds us and gives us a solid foundation to withstand such life challenges.

Likewise, the Root chakra on earth is at Mount Shasta in California, USA. Often referred to as the Alchemy of Stability, the mountain is a dormant volcano with healing powers and a spiritual connection. Since ancient times, the Native Americans and anyone else visiting this sacred place could sense its energy as they near it.

#2: The Sacral Chakra: Lake Titicaca

Lake Titicaca in Peru Image

The Sacral chakra or Svadhisthana controls our sense of creativity, confidence, and desire. It has the tangential circles of the lotus flower petals in vibrant orange color for its symbol. Plus, it is associated with the water element and is located above the pubic bone and below the navel. This second primary chakra serves as the energy center for pleasure and attaining fulfillment in life.

Now, the Sacral Chakra of the earth is at Lake Titicaca on the border of Bolivia and Peru. Like the body sacral chakra, this sacred site has masculine and feminine qualities, forming the core for self-expression and creativity. As per Artisan Farmacy, Lake Titicaca may have been the birthplace of mythological royalty. Lake Titicaca is easily accessible and navigable by boat.

#3: The Solar Plexus Chakra: Uluru, Australia

Uluru Australia Earth Chakra Image

The third primary chakra is the Solar Plexus or Manipura, depicted in yellow color. Located in the upper abdomen, it controls our self-confidence, self-worth, and self-esteem. This chakra develops when we attain 15 years to 21 years.

Uluru or Ayers Rock is a massive desert rock and a World Heritage Site located in Australia. It dates back to 600 million years ago and emits powerful energy that attracts visitors each year. In turn, the rock face remains sacred to indigenous Australians, where the Anangu people hold their traditional customs.

#4: The Heart Chakra: Glastonbury & Shaftesbury, England

Glastonbury and Shaftesbury England Image

The Heart Chakra or Anahata acts as the bridge between the upper and the lower chakras. Hence, it is located at the center of the chest and takes on the color green. Anahata controls our ability to give and receive love, joy, and inner peace.

Likewise, Mother Earth’s Heart Chakra is at Glastonbury and Shaftesbury in England. Like the body’s heart chakra, we associate this earth chakra with giving, forgiveness, compassion, and love.

#5: The Throat Chakra: The Great Pyramids of Giza & Mount of Olives, Egypt

Pyramid of Giza Earth Chakras Image

The Throat Chakra or Vishuddha is at the throat. It controls our ability to express our feelings. Consequently, if you have a blocked throat chakra, you may struggle to express your true feelings about yourself or those you love.

Similarly, the earth’s Throat Chakra is at the Great Pyramids of Giza and Mount of Olives in Egypt. It is associated with speaking and seeking the truth, self-expression, and overall communication. The site emits such powerful energies that Pharaoh Khufu honored it by building his tomb there in 4,600 B.C.

#6: The Third Eye Chakra: Currently at Glastonbury

Ajna or the Third Eye Chakra is at the center of the head, parallel to the eyebrows. It controls our perception, spiritual communication, and overall awareness. This chakra is the key to spiritual connection when you lack wisdom and insight.

Now, the universe’s third eye chakra has no permanent location. It shifts by 1/12th of the earth every 2,000 years. It is associated with attaining a deep spiritual connection, intelligence, and intuition.

#7: The Crown Chakra: Mount Kailash

Holy Mount Kailash Image

Sahasrara or the crown chakra is at the top of the head. It serves as the meeting point between our mortal bodies and the soul and universe. As the highest chakra, it controls our spiritual connections and inner and outer beauty. Through it, we can achieve our divine consciousness, enlightenment, and awareness.

In contrast, any blockage at the crown chakra causes physical imbalance and confusion. Crown chakra uses the symbol of a thousand-petaled lotus flower in violet or white colors.

Now, when you seek wisdom, divine guidance, understanding, and cosmic consciousness, visit the Crown Chakra of the earth at Mount Kailash. It is the most sacred mountain in the Himalayas, standing at 22,000 feet high. It is here that the local Tibetans and visitors connect to the spiritual power. Still, you can tap this spiritual connection by arranging Himalayas Salt Lamps, Clear Quartz crystals, or essential oils as you meditate.


The earth chakras are the energy reservoirs of Mother Earth. They attract pilgrims, tourists, and locals for reasons that we can’t explain. Knowing the location of the seven earth chakras is crucial in aligning our chakras to those of Mother Earth. It helps us achieve the harmony necessary for spiritual growth.